About the Historic Heriot Bay Inn, Quadra Island

The Heriot Bay Inn was established in about 1895 by Hosea Arminis Bull overlooking Heriot Bay on Quadra Island. This building burned down and was subsequently rebuilt in 1912. In addition to its 19 sleeping rooms, the newly built hotel boasted a large office where travelers gathered around the fireplace to socialize and tell stories, an upstairs dance hall, and an aviary of rare canaries.

Marina at Heriot Bay

Mr. Hosea Bull sold the Inn in 1926, two years after his wife's passing. It changed hands again in 1943, and was renovated by these new owners. Renovations have continued to update the Inn; the sleeping rooms all received their own bathrooms in 1986. (As a result, the Inn's rooms are quite cozy).

In November of 2008 the hotel was purchased by a group of Islanders by the name of Community Custodial Concepts. This is a dynamic group full of ideas, energy and enthusiasm. Hotel improvements have begun with a renovation and addition, creating a larger and more comfortable entrance, lobby and front desk. The Community Custodial Concepts group, led by Lois Taylor and Paul Mortimer, are happy to be keeping the Inn locally owned, for locals and visitors alike to enjoy.

The Heriot Bay Inn is the jewel of Heriot Bay, as Islanders and vacationers alike enjoy the fabulous view, sumptuous surroundings and delicious Pacific Northwest cuisine.

Today, you'll still find much of the original historic 1912 structure... The warm wood panelling and single pane windows found in the office & lounge are a few of the historic clues. The main wing of Mr. Hosea Bull's original Inn is now the lounge, office and lobby. The wing with the gift shop was turned 90 degrees in 1943 and attached to the main wing, creating an L-shaped structure.

The Inn's historic roots blend beautifully with the new additions, showcasing the best of both!

 

Find us on Facebook! Meet us on Twitter!